Manage Email Without a Trash Folder


Instead of using a trash folder to manage your emails you can configure your mailbox to mark your messages for deletion so that you can expunge them at a later date. This functionality is similar to how Outlook works when configured for AKO mail.

Webmail Classic

To turn this feature on/off:

  • Log in to webmail
  • Click the Options link
  • Click Settings
  • Select the option to “mark messages as deleted” to enable or select “Move deleted messages” to disable.
  • The option to remove deleted messages from inbox will automatically expunge your box when you log out.

To delete mail

  • Select the mail to be deleted by checking the box next to the mail item.
  • Click the ‘Delete’ button on screen in your inbox window.
  • Open the drop-down box next to where it says ‘View’ and select the option labeled ‘Deleted’.
  • Select the email to be permanently expunged (selecting no emails will expunge the entire list).
  • Open the drop down box that reads ‘Actions’ and select ‘Expunge’ and click to confirm.

Webmail 2.0

To turn this feature on/off:

  • Log in to webmail 2
  • Click the Options link
  • Click ‘General’ on the left underneath the ‘Mail’ header.
  • Select “mark messages as deleted” to enable or select “Move messages to…” to disable.
  • The option to expunge messages marked deleted will automatically expunge your box when you log out.

To delete mail

  • Select the mail to be deleted and press the delete button.
  • This message will become greyed out with a red X next to it signifying it is marked for deletion.
  • Click the expunge button when you want to remove every email that has been marked for deletion.